Review - Using Runbox email for a family group

First, let me say I have no affiliation with Runbox, nor do I know anyone personally at Runbox, nor do I have any financial interest in the company or its products. I am simply reviewing their email solution after studying alternatives for months.

If this review gets a little long-winded, I apologize. I just want to be thorough. If I have something wrong, again I apologize (it wouldn’t be the first time I got something wrong), and I invite Runbox staff to correct me.

I am a computer scientist by training and trade. I’ve been taking care of email for my family for about 20 years. I ran my own email server for about 13 years before giving up and first using a web hosting service, and then google workspace. Since I am getting rather long in the tooth, I began to worry about what would happen to my domain if I die or become incapacitated. Loss of domain would result in loss of email for my whole family, not just me. And there are many ways I could lose the domain: the domain provider could be compromised, I might forget to renew the domain, a problem with a credit card could result in the domain not be renewed, etc. Since no one in my family had the knowledge or the desire to maintain the domain, much less learn how to maintain and administer either the domain or the email service, I needed to look for a simpler solution and still be able to help my family with their email needs.